CHABRIER          Marche Joyeuse

GERSHWIN         Rhapsody in Blue

BERNSTEIN         Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

BIZET                   L’Arlesienne Suite No. 2

RAVEL                 Bolero

Conductor:        Richard Howarth

Soloist:                Martin Roscoe



Back to events

Blackburn Symphony Orchestra with soloist Martin Roscoe

Saturday 13th July 2019,7.30 pm

All aboard for the French / American experience? We begin our journey in France with Chabrier’s uplifting Marche Joyeuse; it’s sure to get your foot tapping.  American next and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, its trademark clarinet glissando opening will instantly transport you to New York and its soaring skyline.  Soak up the sultry atmosphere of downtown Manhattan with Bernstein’s Symphonic Dances from West Side Story.  Famous tunes include Cha Cha (Maria), Somewhere and Mambo.  The last leg of the musical journey takes us back to France and to the music of Bizet and Ravel with the famous Bolero wending its way to take us to the end of our travels.